Bernal & Carapaz lead, Ineos announces La Vuelta lineup.

The Ineos Grenadiers team announced their entry list for the La Vuelta on Monday, and the luxurious lineup will lead the team forward in the last major race of this year.


Egan Bernal will start his second major tournament of the season on Saturday and is a popular candidate for the red jersey. The La Vuelta is a major tournament that the Tour de France champion and the 2019 Tour de France champion have not won in their careers. If his lingering back problems won't cause him too much trouble, he should be invincible in the high-intensity mountain stage of the La Vuelta.


At the same time, he will also fight side by side with several other star teammates (including two Olympic champions) who have the Grand Tour Championship, which will be one of the most powerful and luxurious lineups in the La Vuelta.


Last year's La Vuelta runner-up and the 2019 Tour of Italy champion Richard Carapaz will also be the starter for the Ineos grenadier. He was on the overall podium in this year's Tour de France and won the gold medal in the just-concluded Olympic road race. Carapaz is only 24 seconds behind Primož Roglič of the Jumbo-Visma team in the 2020 La Vuelta, which is the smallest total score gap in the 21st century so far.


At the same time, Adam Yates joined the Ineos Grenadiers team this year. The La Vuelta was the only major tournament in his career that he did not make the top ten.


The other players in the team are Pavel Sivakov, Jhonatan Narvaez, Salvatore Puccio, Dylan van Baarle, and the recently crowned Olympic mountain bike champion Tomas Pidcock. This is his first time participating in the La Vuelta. Ineos Grenadiers’ luxurious lineup will pose a big challenge to Roglič’s defending title.

Spin to win Spinner icon