2021 Tour de France S16: full rain battle, mountain sightseeing! Konrad successfully solo won the championship.

On July 13, the 16th stage of the Tour de France ended. Patrick Konrad (Bora-Hansgrohe) decisively flew solo in the final stage of the breakout, holding the lead and winning the stage championship. The main group finished the race safely, and the gap between the four-color jersey and the total score remained unchanged.

After finishing a day in Andorra, the Tour de France has also entered the final stage. The sixteenth stage is an undulating road stage with a total length of 169km. It contains a 4-level slope (800m, 8.4%), two 2-level slopes (11.4km, 5.1%; 5.4km, 7.1%), and one 1 Grade slope (13.1km, 6.6%) and a sprint point on the way. The first 35km of this stage is downhill, so while maintaining the high speed, the cyclists can also retain their physical strength. Several climbing points on the way have a certain degree of difficulty, but compared to the mountain stage, it is slightly simpler. In addition, considering the subsequent two "back-to-back" mountain stages, the overall results cyclists are likely to ride relatively conservatively. Therefore, the breakout group has a chance to win the stage championship.


Before the start of the game, Amund Grondahl Jansen (BikeExchange) retired due to injury, and Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo) also left this Tour de France. He will focus on preparing for the Tokyo Olympics and strive to bring honor to his homeland.

▲Sonny Colbrelli changed into the Italian national championship camouflage chariot, and his teammate Matej Mohoric also rode the Slovenian national championship camouflage Merida REACTO

With low temperatures on the field and with rain, most cyclists put on warm clothing to cope with the long-distance downhill in the early stages of the race. Before the official firing, the cyclists stopped to change the rain-drenched clothing in the last 1km of the neutral riding, and tried to face the next race in a better state.


The battle started quickly, and Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-QuickStep) immediately broke through and quickly established a lead. Soon after, Jasper Stuyven (Trek–Segafredo) and Casper Pedersen (DSM) cooperated and left. Attacks continued in the main group. The cyclists galloped all the way. Kasper Asgreen's breakthrough average speed was once close to 60km/h. When the race was 42km, the chasing cyclist was taken back. Kasper Asgreen led the main group alone by 1 minute and 25 seconds, and he would take the lead in the first level 2 climb.

The main group is coming fiercely, constantly narrowing the time gap in the climbing section. Behind Kasper Asgreen is Mattia Cattaneo (Deceuninck-QuickStep) and Michał Kwiatkowski (Ineos Grenadiers) joining hands to pursue. At this moment, Miguel Angel Lopez (Movistar) suddenly attacked, and Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) personally recovered him, declaring his dominance in the main group. In the first climb of the race, there were many small groups scattered on the field, and many cyclists were still trying to attack, Christopher Froome, Andre Greipel (Israel Start–Up Nation), Mark Cavendish (Deceuninck-QuickStep), Greg Van Avermaet (AG2R Citroën) and others are left behind.


With 3.5km away from the climbing point, Mattia Cattaneo and Michał Kwiatkowski caught up with Kasper Asgreen, leading the rear to chase the cyclist for 35 seconds, and the main group was firmly controlled by the UAE Team Emirates. Mattia Cattaneo led the breakout three people through the level 2 climbing point. The main group launched a chase on the slippery downhill, retracted the chasing cyclist, and maintained the time gap at about 20 seconds.

65km after the start of the race, the breakout cyclists were all recovered, Julian Alaphilippe's offensive speeded up and once again ignited the flames of war. Christopher Juul Jensen (BikeExchange), Fabien Doubey (Total Direct Energie) and Jan Bakelants (Wanty-Gobert) broke through and held hands The 20-second lead passed the sprint point on the way. The main group arrived later, with Michael Matthews (BikeExchange) rushing to fourth and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Victorious) fifth. Patrick Konrad (Bora-Hansgrohe) joined the breakout group shortly after, and dozens of chasing cyclists were scattered behind the four.


Soon after, Patrick Konrad led the breakout group through the only level 1 climbing point in the race. Sonny Colbrelli led the team behind the breakout cyclist to catch up. The EF Education-Nippo team leader was behind the main group for more than 6 minutes, and the GC cyclist entered early. The state of guarding each other.

▲UAE Team Emirates once again led the main group and let go of the breakout cyclists

Entering the final 40km, only Patrick Konrad, Fabien Doubey and Jan Bakelants are left in front of the race. They are 30 seconds ahead of the chasing group led by Sonny Colbrelli and 8 minutes 25 seconds ahead of the main group. The next level 2 climbing point is waiting for them in front. . With 4km away from the climbing point, Patrick Konrad flew solo, and David Gaudu (FDJ) in the chasing group also accelerated. Only Sonny Colbrelli could barely keep up with the rest of the cyclists. Fabien Doubey and Jan Bakelants were chased after falling behind. Back.


Patrick Konrad took a 20-second lead and passed the second grade point. David Gaudu was second and Sonny Colbrelli was third. The time behind the main group is still expanding. The UAE Team Emirates team continues to lead the ride, slowly rushing on the road in a very conservative way. No one of the GC cyclists wants to take the risk of attacking.

▲Patrick Konrad, Austrian national champion

▲In the last 20km, Patrick Konrad was still solo ahead of Sonny Colbrelli and David Gaudu by 45 seconds. Michael Matthews led the chase group to try to join the battle, and the main group was 12 minutes and 10 seconds behind. There is the last level 4 climb ahead of Patrick Konrad

▲Patrick Konrad entered the last 10km with a 1:05 second lead. Behind him is a 9-man chasing group


The last level 4 climb was only 800m long. David Gaudu started to accelerate again, hoping to take this opportunity to get rid of Sonny Colbrelli and Michael Matthews, who have strong sprinting ability, but such a short slope could not widen the gap. At this time, Patrick Konrad in front had successfully passed the climbing point, leading the chasing cyclist 1 minute into the final 3km, and the main group was 14 minutes and 15 seconds behind.

The nine members of the chasing group did not want to stop there. Among them, Pierre-Luc Périchon (Cofidis) speeded out, gained a short lead, and started chasing Patrick Konrad alone. The Austrian national champion Patrick Konrad succeeded in holding the lead and winning the first Tour de France stage of his career before reaching the finish line. Sonny Colbrelli and Michael Matthews started a sprint duel before the finish line, killing Pierre-Luc Périchon at the last minute. Sonny Colbrelli rushed to the second stage, Michael Matthews third, and Pierre-Luc Périchon unfortunately finished fourth in the stage.


The main group was long overdue, and Wout Van Aert initiated a wave of strong acceleration in the last 7km, broke the main group in an instant, and led a group of GC cyclists to accelerate towards the finish line. Tadej Pogacar, Jonas Vingegaard and Richard Carapaz also brought a wonderful small group sprint at the end, passing the line 13 minutes and 49 seconds behind Patrick Konrad, and finished the race safely.


After the stage, the four-color jersey remained unchanged. Tadej Pogacar has a yellow jersey and best young cyclist white jersey. Mark Cavendish continues to wear a sprint green jersey, and Wout Poels sticks to a climbing polka dot jersey. Patrick Konrad won the Combativity award for the stage.

Spin to win Spinner icon