2021 La Vuelta S9: Ineos loses in teamfight, Caruso wins single stage with ultra-long offensive.

On August 22, the ninth stage of La Vuelta ended. This is the last day of the first stage of La Vuelta. Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious) won the championship solo. Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) and Enric Mas (Movistar) won second and third places, expanding the overall results list. Leading edge.


All the teams with total scores got a rest in the flat road stage, and what they will face next is a difficult mountain stage. The ninth stage has a total length of 188km and a total climb of about 4500m. There are a 3rd grade, a 2nd grade, a 1st grade and a HC grade. The first 50km of the track is less difficult and is a continuous downhill; and after starting the first section of the climb, cyclists need to conquer successive mountain roads and decide the winner at the final peak.





After the race started, BikeExchange and Lotto-Soudal teams had cyclists launching attacks, and there were also cyclists willing to join the breakout group. It's a pity that the first 50km are mainly downhill, and the main vehicle group has been moving at a higher pace, with an average speed of up to 50km/h. Therefore, all the early breakout attempts failed. After entering the first climb, the main car group began to loosen due to the pull of the Bahrain Victorious and other teams, but the protruding cyclists still could not maintain the lead.


Before entering the second climbing point, Rafał Majka (UAE Team Emirates) initiated a new offensive and brought out a number of cyclists. This formed a breakout group of 11 people, including Olivier. Le Gac, Rudy Molard (FDJ), Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious), Robert Stannard (BikeExchange), Romain Bardet, Martijn Tasveld (DSM), Kenny Elissonde (Trek-Segafredo), Rafał Majka (UAE Team Emirates), Lilian Calmejane ( AG2R), Ángel Madrazo (Burgos-BH) and Julen Amezqueta (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA). Before entering the second stage of the climb, they had already extended their lead to about 2 minutes and 30 seconds, at which time the schedule was already over half.







After that, the Jumbo-Visma team controlled the rhythm of the main car group and put the advantage of the breakout group to about 4 minutes. But seeing the opponents "passively sabotage", the Ineos Grenadiers team couldn't sit still. They drove out the train to speed up the pace of the pursuit. After a while, the gap between the two groups suddenly dropped to around 1:30. At this time, about 70km away from the finish line, Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious) chose to attack and break up the breakout group. Romain Bardet (DSM) and Rafał Majka (UAE Team Emirates) did not get close to their opponents and stayed behind for about 40 seconds. Keep catching up.


After passing the top of the first grade, Romain Bardet (DSM) took second place and may wear a polka dot jersey in the next stage. Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious) was in exceptionally good form, widening the gap between himself and the chasing group to about 2 minutes, leading the main car group by 3 minutes. Since then, Damiano Caruso continued to fly solo and started the final climb with a huge advantage of 3 minutes and 25 seconds ahead of the chasing group and 5 minutes and 20 seconds ahead of the main car group.





The main car group entered the last 10km, and the chasing group was taken back one after another. In the GC team, Ineos Grenadiers took the lead, Adam Yates launched an offense, and started a tug of war with Primož Roglič and Enric Mas. Ineos Grenadiers relied on the large number of people and launched several pulls but with little effect. Even Adam Yates, Egan Arley Bernal, and Richard Carapaz have also fallen behind, while their opponents seem to be able to do well and have enough physical fitness to expand their advantage. In the end, Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious) won the single championship with a one-minute advantage. Primož Roglič and Enric Mas won second and third places, and further expanded their GC advantage.


After the stage is over, the cyclists will have their first rest day. Primož Roglič retained the overall result red jersey, Fabio Jakobsen led the sprint green jersey, Egan Arley Bernal continued to wear the best young cyclist white jersey, and Damiano Caruso won the hill climbing polka dot jersey from the Ineos Grenadiers team.

Spin to win Spinner icon