2021 La Vuelta S6: Nielsen wins by climbing, Roglič is back in red jersey.

On August 19th, the sixth stage of La Vuelta ended. Magnus Cort Nielsen (EF Education-Nippo) took the lead, sprinting uphill to withstand Primož Roglič's pursuit pressure, breaking through and winning the stage championship. Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) failed in a lore, and won the red jersey from Kenny Elissonde (Trek-Segafredo) while finishing second in the stage. The overall result jumped to the top of the list.






The beginning of the race was a long-distance descent, and the main group continued to attack. It was not until 50km after the start that the breakout group was formally formed. At this time, the race was about to enter a long and gentle section, so the main group slowed down and let the cyclists break through. Go far. However, today’s breakout group is slightly more than the previous few days, and the World Tour racing team is also involved, Joan Bou (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Ryan Gibbons (UAE Team Emirates), Jetse Bol (Burgos-BH), Bert-Jan Lindeman (Qhubeka-Assos) and Magnus Cort Nielsen formed a group of five and quickly established a 7-minute lead.











The breakout group successfully passed the sprint point on the way, and the lead dropped to about 3 minutes. With 33km away from the finish line, the Ineos Grenadiers team stepped on the accelerator to reach the front of the group, tearing the main group apart, and the Jumbo-Visma and Movistar teams responded quickly to keep up. Adam Yates (Ineos Grenadiers), Kenny Elissonde and many other cyclists left behind. 


The breakout cyclists worked hard against the sea breeze. The Movistar team took over the lead position. In the last 15km, the main group was screened again. Hugh Carthy (EF Education-Nippo) fell behind. Fortunately, the main group slowed down soon. Pursuing the rhythm, some cyclists who fell behind were able to return to the group. In the last 5km, the five breakouts were still 50 seconds ahead of the main group. The Movistar and Ineos Grenadiers teams took turns to pursue them. When entering the last 1.9km climbing section, the time gap was closed to 20 seconds.


In the last 1.4km, Magnus Cort Nielsen saw that the situation was not going well, and accelerated to shake off the rest of the breakout cyclists, and flew solo towards the finish line. Soon, Magnus Cort Nielsen became the last breakout cyclist, Primož Roglič, Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana-Premier Tech), Egan Arley Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers), Enric Mas, Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and other cyclists have appeared in Magnus Cort. Not far behind Nielsen, Michael Matthews (BikeExchange) made a desperate move to speed up the offense, instead helping Primož Roglič and others to get rid of their competitors. The GC group was split, and Michael Matthews was also defeated in the climb.







When the decisive moment arrived, Magnus Cort Nielsen was still insisting on breaking through. Primož Roglič in the rear continued to sway and accelerate. After leaving his opponent, he quickly shortened the time gap, and was likely to overtake Magnus Cort Nielsen before the finish line. Fortunately, Magnus Cort Nielsen steadily resisted the pressure, successfully held the lead, became the last breakout cyclist, and finally won the stage championship. Primož Roglič finished second in the stage and Andrea Bagioli (Deceuninck-QuickStep) was 2 seconds behind to finish third.


At the end of the stage, Primož Roglič led Enric Mas by 25 seconds and then topped the overall results list, putting on the lead red jersey. Jasper Philipsen led the sprint green jersey, Rein Taaramäe kept the climbing polka dot jersey, and Egan Arley Bernal continued to wear the best young cyclist white jersey.

Spin to win Spinner icon