2021 La Vuelta S5: Philipsen scores twice in sprint, Taaramäe crashes and loses red jersey.

On August 18th, the fifth stage of La Vuelta ended. Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Fenix) defeated Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck-QuickStep) and Alberto Dainese (DSM) at the last minute, scored twice to win the stage championship and regained the sprint green jersey from Fabio Jakobsen. Rein Taaramäe (Wanty Gobert) was affected by the crash and lost more time. He handed over the red jersey to Kenny Elissonde (Trek-Segafredo).


The fifth stage starts at Tarancon and finishes at Albacete. The total length of the stage is 184.4 kilometers, and the sprint point and the stop point on the way are located at 131.5 kilometers after the start. It can be seen from the topographic map that this stage is almost completely flat, but due to the geographical location, strong cross winds often occur in the area, and the high temperature also hits again, making this stage less difficult It looks so low.


In the early stages of the race, a three-person breakout group composed of three wild truck team cyclists was formed. They were Pelayo Sanchez of Burgos-BH, Oier Lazkano of Caja Rural-Seguros RGA and Xabier Mikel Azparren of Euskaltel-Euskadi.


Most of the route for today’s game is the long and straight Daping Road, so the speed to the group is relatively casual. The time difference in the breakout group has basically been maintained at three minutes. Of course, this time difference is for the main group. Does not pose any threat.


In the race for the sprint point on the way, the top three were won by three breakout cyclists. Among them, Oier Lazkano won the first place in the sprint point on the way, Pelayo Sanchez was second, and Xabier Mikel Azparren was third, with 3, 2 and 1 second slashes respectively. In the main group, Jasper Philipsen finished fourth and Arnaud Démare finished fifth.


When the race was about 40 kilometers remaining, the main group appeared lined up on the road. This phenomenon indicated that the main group was in a very casual state.


When the remaining 28 kilometers of the race, crosswinds may have appeared on the track, and the total score teams moved to the front of the group one after another to avoid the adverse effects of crosswinds on the tactics. At the same time, the time difference between the breakout cyclist and the main group was also reduced to about 1 minute and 30 seconds.


At 19 kilometers, the cross wind hit again, the main group quickly increased the speed, and many cyclists were left behind. At this time, the time difference between the breakout cyclists and the main group also shrank significantly. Then at 15.6 kilometers, the last Breakout cyclist Oier Lazkano was also swallowed by the main group, and the 169-kilometer breakout officially ended.


With 11.6 kilometers remaining in the race, a large-scale crash occurred in the front of the main group. Red-jerseyed cyclists Rein Taaramäe and Romain Bardet were involved. This fall may affect both Romain Bardet's total score and Rein Taaramäe's red jersey. Thrown away.


After the crash, there were only about 30 cyclists remaining in the group, but the front group did not increase the speed and carried out a neutral ride. In the process, some cyclists took back the main group, but did not include the red jersey cyclists. Rein Taaramäe.


After passing the last turn of 900 meters, the sprint trains of various teams opened fire. In the end, Jasper Philipsen of Alpecin-Fenix ​​team finally won his second stage championship in La Vuelta with a longer sprint.


Stage results: First place Jasper Philipsen, Fabio Jakobsen sprinted to Jasper Philipsen to finish second, DSM team Alberto Dainese finished third.


In terms of overall results, as Rein Taaramäe was affected by the crash and passed the line by 2 minutes and 20 seconds behind the main group, he naturally lost the red jersey. Then Kenny Elissonde topped the overall results list and successfully took over the red jersey. The Jumbo-Visma team Primož Roglič is currently second, Juan Pedro López is fifth, Egan Arley Bernal is in eighth, Mikel Landa is ninth, and Gino Mäder is tenth. As a GC cyclist, Romain Bardet, who was affected by the crash, was more than 12 minutes behind in La Vuelta. It can be said that he has lost the opportunity to pursue the overall result.

Spin to win Spinner icon