2021 La Vuelta S4: A strong return! Jakobsen won the green jersey in victory.

On August 17, the fourth stage of the Tour of West ended. Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck-QuickStep) defeated all opponents in the sprint battle, won the stage victory and put on the sprint green jersey. Arnaud Démare (FDJ) was second and Magnus Cort Nielsen (EF Education-Nippo) was third. This is Fabio Jakobsen's first major tournament after returning from injury. His performance is amazing and gratifying.





After the game started, only Joan Bou (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Ángel Madrazo and Carlos Canal (Burgos-BH) were the only ones to break through. In this long and boring flat road stage, the small breakout group was naturally unable to fight against the main team. The group poses a threat, and the Wanti team firmly controls the pace of the race. In the last 50km, the time gap was reduced to 1 minute. The race was uneventful. The only episode was that Primož Roglič changed his chariot during the race.








In the last 20km, the FDJ team came to the front of the main group to lead the acceleration. They wanted to fight for Arnaud Démare's sprint opportunity. The breakout cyclists were all recovered in the last 13.8km, and then the Ineos Grenadiers, Movistar, Bora-Hansgrohe and Deceuninck-QuickStep teams also began to line up. For a while, everyone was waiting for the sprint.



In the last 5km, the Ineos Grenadiers team accelerated in front of the group. Adam Yates and Egan Arley Bernal were in favorable positions. Rein Taaramäe crashed shortly afterwards. Fortunately, he was protected by the three-kilometer rule without losing time.


When the sprint war came, Jasper Philipsen's sprint route was locked by the FDJ team and failed to keep up with the pace of the rusher. Michael Matthews tried to sprint from the left side of the track, but the stamina was insufficient and gradually fell behind. After passing the last corner, the FDJ team pulled out a beautiful sprint train and launched Arnaud Démare. At this moment, Fabio Jakobsen found the right time to rush out from behind Arnaud Démare, and took the lead in crossing the line with absolute strength to win the race. Duan champion.


After the race, Rein Taaramäe retained the overall red jersey and climbing polka dot jersey, Fabio Jakobsen won the sprint green jersey from Jasper Philipsen, and Egan Arley Bernal continued to wear the best young cyclist white jersey.

Spin to win Spinner icon