2021 La Vuelta S2: Speed decides! Philipsen sprints to win .

On August 15, the second stage of La Vuelta ended. 4km before the finish line, there was a crash in the main group. Fortunately, the sprint cyclists were not affected. In the end, Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Fenix) won the championship with a slight advantage, Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) was second, and Michael Matthews (Team BikeExchange) was third.


The second stage is a flat road stage with a total length of 166.7km. For La Vuelta, the stage was very flat, with only a few small ups and downs, and there was a sprint point at 150km. Due to the low difficulty of the whole journey and the strong wind in Spain, the chance of breaking through cyclists is relatively small. In the end, it will end with a group sprint.



After the race started, three cyclists from the Spanish local team joined forces to launch an offense. They were Diego Rubio (Burgos-BH), Sergio Roman MartÍn (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Xabier Mikel Azparren (Euskaltel-Euskadi). The main car group ignored them and allowed them to leave. Soon, the breakout group extended its advantage to 2:30. The race was under the control of Deceuninck-QuickStep and FDJ teams, and the time gap between the two groups gradually stabilized at about 4 minutes.





Entering the final 100km, the FDJ and Deceuninck-QuickStep teams are still riding in front of the main car group, controlling the pace of the race. Due to the small number of breakouts and the strong wind, the lead of the breakout group was reduced to about 1 minute and 45 seconds. Since then, the main vehicle group has made several pulls with the help of the wind, but these attempts have not been able to divide the group. There is also an episode. About 75km from the end point, an Alpecin-Fenix ​​cyclist suffered a crash, but the impact was not significant. In addition, as the main vehicle group accelerates, the advantage of the breakout group is also reduced. Until the last 40km or so, the main vehicle group is still behind by about 2 minutes.







Entering the last 30km, the breakout group began to divide. In the end, Diego Rubio (Burgos-BH) started flying solo with a one-minute advantage. But as the sprint point approached on the way, Astana-Premier Tech, Jumbo-visma, EF Education-Nippo and other teams began to accelerate, and grabbed the last breakout cyclist before the sprint point. After a battle, Fabio Jakobsen, who returned from injury, took the lead to cross the line, Alex Aranburu (Astana-Premier Tech) was second, and Bert van Lerberghe (Deceuninck-QuickStep) was third.


In the last 10km, Bora-Hansgrohe took the lead to grab the spot, and then Deceuninck-QuickStep, FDJ, UAE Team Emirates and other teams also pulled out the train one after another. The atmosphere on the court is very tense, and many teams are vying for a favorable position. At the last 4.3km, a large-scale crash occurred in the main vehicle group, and many cyclists were involved. But the main sprinters were not affected much.


Entering the last 2km, the Alpecin-Fenix ​​team first topped the forefront, and then was overtaken by trains from the Deceuninck-QuickStep and UAE Team Emirates teams. At the last moment, Matteo Trentin (UAE Team Emirates) sent the final assist for his own sprinter, Fabio Jakobsen and Jasper Philipsen kept up and surpassed their opponents. In the end, Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Fenix) completed the lore before the finish line and won the championship. Fabio Jakobsen regrettably finished second and Michael Matthews third.


In terms of overall results, Primož Roglič (Jumbo-visma) retained the overall red jersey. Adam Yates (Ineos Grenadiers), Chris Hamilton (Team BikeExchange), Hugh Carthy (EF Education-Nippo) were affected by the crash and lost 38 seconds. . After the race, Jasper Philipsen wore a sprint green jersey, Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-visma) and Andrea Bagioli (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) still wore hill-climbing polka dot jerseys and the best young cyclist white jerseys.

Spin to win Spinner icon