2020 Tokyo Olympics! Carapaz is crowned king!

The 2020 Tokyo Olympics men's road bike race was held on July 24, 2021. In the end, Ecuadorian cyclist Richard Carapaz came to the fore and won the gold medal in this more than 6-hour race!

The race officially started at 11 a.m., and the world's top cyclists gathered in Tokyo to compete for the highest award in the four-year race. The total length of this event is 234 kilometers, with a cumulative climb of 4,865 meters, passing the famous Mount Fuji on the way.

After the race started, 8 players formed today's breakout group, including the familiar Slovak cyclist Peter Sagan and his brother-Juraj Sagan. The big group is mainly led by the Belgian team. The 2016 Rio Olympic champion Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium) personally came to the front of the group to lead the ride. In the face of the 200-kilometer mountain stage, the big group did not take the breakout cyclist. Being stingy, the advantage of the breakout group increased to about 20 minutes two hours after the start of the game. At this time, the Slovenia team, one of the favorites, also began to participate in the lead of the game. Then Greg Van Avermaet led the big group through the first climbing point-Taoist Road.

In the last 140 kilometers of the race, when the big group passed the second climbing point-the caged mountain pass, Slovenian cyclist Primož Roglič retreated to the back of the group to receive medical treatment. Greg Van Avermaet continued to output in front of the group and tried his best. The physical strength of the main opponent. It is undeniable that Greg Van Avermaet has taken on most of the leading work in the group today.

In the last 110 kilometers of the game, the big group continued to be led by the Belgian and Slovenian teams in turn, and began to march towards the climbing point at the foot of Mount Fuji. The lead of the breakout group was quickly reduced to about 10 minutes, and the big group also fell behind one after another. Circumstances, forced to withdraw from this competition. As the group gets closer and closer to the top of the mountain, the number of cyclists in the big group continues to decrease. Fortunately, famous climbers such as Ilnur Zakarin (Russia) and Alejandro Valverde (Spain) can't insist on staying in the big group. In the last 85 kilometers of the race, peloton still maintained a considerable number of people when passing the climbing point at the foot of Mount Fuji. Although the British, Italian, Dutch, and Danish teams still have many cyclists, the competition seems to have become the Belgian team and Slovenia. Team showdown.

After the first three climbs, the game ushered in a relatively calm downhill and flat road. Then the race came to the Fuji International Circuit. There were 5 cyclists left in the breakout group, and the advantage over the big group was maintained at about 4 and a half minutes. In the last 55 kilometers of the game, the front of the group continued to be pulled. Damiano Caruso (Italy) tried to attack from the big group. The Belgian and Dutch teams reacted quickly to keep up and defuse the attack of Damiano Caruso.

In the last 50 kilometers of the race, Eddie Dunbar (Ireland) and Remco Evenepoel (Belgium) joined forces to attack, Vincenzo Nibali (Italy) seized the opportunity to keep up with the two, forming a three-person offensive group and ran out of the big group, but the big group had no plans. Let the three people run away, led by the French team and the Dutch team to recover the three people smoothly.

In the last 40 kilometers of the race, the big group left the Fuji International Arena and headed towards Mount Mikuni, the most critical climbing point today. At this time, there were still about 60 cyclists in the big group. After entering the climb, the Belgian team once again took over the leadership of the big group. Due to the crazy output of the Belgian team, the number of large groups has been greatly reduced, and even Remco Evenepoel, one of Belgium's own main players, has begun to fall behind. At this time, the Tour de France champion Tadej Pogacar launched an attack and broke through the group. Only Michael Woods (Canada) and Brandon McNulty (USA) barely kept up. The trailing group was led by Wout van Aert (Belgium). Primož Roglič, another Slovenian cyclist, gradually dropped out of peloton.

Subsequently, Alberto Bettiol (Italy), Richard Carapaz (Ecuador), Michał Kwiatkowski (Poland) and Rigoberto Uran (Colombia) caught up with the Tadej Pogacar Group. In front of the top of the mountain, Wout van Aert also successfully led the remaining three cyclists back to the leading group, and today the championship group is officially formed.

After a period of downhill and flat roads, the cyclists came to the last caged mountain pass to climb the slope. Richard Carapaz (Ecuador) and Brandon McNulty (U.S.) launched an offensive and took the lead in passing today's last climb point with an advantage of about 20 seconds ahead of the big group. The backward group could not form an effective joint force to chase farther and farther, and the advantages of Richard Carapaz and Brandon McNulty continued to increase to 40 seconds during the downhill phase.

At a critical time, Wout van Aert stepped up again to lead the trailing group to pursue, and the leading two-person advantage began to decrease. In the last 6 kilometers of the race, the Richard Carapaz Group lead was only 15 seconds left. But Richard Carapaz didn't give up, and continued to insist after ditching Brandon McNulty, pulling the advantage back for half a minute, and Wout van Aert was still exhausting his energy and pursuing desperately behind him. In the last two kilometers of the race, the trailing group gave up the pursuit and instead competed for the silver medal. In the end, Richard Carapaz won the Olympic gold medal with a one-minute advantage, Wout van Aert won the runner-up with a sprint, and Tadej Pogacar was one rim behind to win the bronze medal.

Congratulations to Richard Carapaz for winning the gold medal in the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Road Race!


Spin to win Spinner icon